Archives
Current Year

Sophie Huguenot

© FOC / Studio Roth&Maerchy

Tipi village, Le Noirmont 03.08.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Gorge Taubenloch, Bienne 04.08.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

CERN, Geneva 05.08.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Commemoration of 9/11, New York 11.09.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Commemoration of 9/11, New York 11.09.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Electoral campaign for the Swiss federal elections, Berne 21.09.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Preparation of the Swiss federal elections, Geneva 21.10.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Election of the Swiss Federal Council, Berne 14.12.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Initiative against the secondary residences, Geneva 20.02.2012
© Sophie Huguenot

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'4 × 5', photo research

Essay

Analogue and Topical

Sophie Huguenot has won the Swiss Federal Design Award for her project '4 × 5'. The setting for her photographs is the fast-moving world of media current affairs coverage, specifically the world of television coverage. The photographer is in constant contact with the news editing team at TSR (Télévision de la Suisse Romande) and accompanies television crews as they report at local, national and international levels.

Her large-format pictures focus on 'in-between' moments and on details that lie outside of the train of events. Sophie Huguenot is interested in the moments in which, to all appearances, nothing is happening - the moments which take place away from the main event. However, these photographs are more than a peek behind the scenes - the photographer knows how to recognise and record the underlying humanity seen in small details and gestures.

The pictures depict anchorwomen in a state of extreme concentration shortly before going on air, a sound engineer waiting in a green meadow, a deserted office, reporters conducting interviews, and natural scenes which, on a second look, reveal all kinds of technical equipment. The picture captions provide indications of what is happening, but, on the whole, they leave the viewer a great deal of space for interpretation.

What all the pictures have in common is that the events shown in them carry the charge of a 'before' and an 'after'. The viewer can undertake a mental journey that brings together the enormous effort and the converging threads behind the brief broadcasts.
The large-format analogue technique forces the photographer's gaze to concentrate entirely on stationary objects. The composition of the picture focuses our attention on details and on the mood of the moment, whilst maintaining a certain distance from the events. The images appear almost iconic, so that one pictures them as exhibits in a museum.

Biography

Name

Sophie Huguenot

 

Born

1982

Education

Photographer


 

Home page

www.sophiehuguenot.ch

Archives
Année courante

Sophie Huguenot

© OFC / Studio Roth&Maerchy

Village de Tipis, Le Noirmont 03.08.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Gorges du Taubenloch, Bienne 04.08.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

CERN, Genève 05.08.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Commémoration du 11 september 2001, New York 11.09.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Commémoration du 11 septembre 2001, New York 11.09.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Campagne électorale pour les élections fédérales, Berne 21.09.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Préparation des élections fédérales, Genève 21.10.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Election du Conseil fédéral, Berne 14.12.2011
© Sophie Huguenot

Initiative contre les résidences secondaires, Genève 20.02.2012
© Sophie Huguenot

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Catégorie

Photographie

 

Oeuvre

'4 × 5', série photographique

Essai

Analogique et actuel

Sophie Huguenot se voit décerner un Prix fédéral de design pour son travail '4 × 5'. Les photographies ont pour cadre la manière fugace et fébrile dont les médias, et en particulier la télévision, traitent l'actualité. La photographe est en contact permanent avec la rédaction du département Actualité de la TSR (Télévision de la Suisse Romande) et accompagne les équipes de télévision dans leurs reportages et leurs émissions sur les événements locaux, suisses et internationaux.

Les photos grand format mettent l'accent sur les moments intermédiaires et sur des détails sans rapport avec les événements. Ce sont ces moments hors champ, à l'écart de l'action principale et où apparemment il ne se passe rien qui intéressent Sophie Huguenot. Ces images sont davantage toutefois qu'un simple regard dans les coulisses car la photographe sait percevoir et retenir ce qu'il y a d'humain dans certains petits détails ou gestes.

Elle montre des animatrices absorbées dans leur réflexion peu avant une émission en direct, une technicienne du son en attente sur une pelouse verte, un bureau désert, des reporters en discussion ou des photos de nature où seul un second regard parvient à distinguer toutes sortes d'appareils techniques. Les légendes des photos donnent certes des indications sur ce qu'il se passe, mais dans l'ensemble, elles laissent à l'observateur une grande liberté d'interprétation.

Toutes les photos ont en commun de conserver l'empreinte de ce qui a précédé ou suivi l'événement. Ainsi l'observateur peut-il, en pensée, reconstituer l'effort énorme que demandent ces brèves émissions et les différents fils qui les composent.
La technique du grand format analogique oblige la photographe à se concentrer entièrement sur l'observation d'objets immobiles. Ses compositions, qui prêtent attention aux détails et à l'atmosphère du moment tout en maintenant une distance avec les événements, créent un effet presque iconique, de sorte qu'on les verrait bien dans un environnement muséal.

Biographie

Nom

Sophie Huguenot

 

Né/née

1982

Formation

Photographer


 

Site web

www.sophiehuguenot.ch