Archives
Current Year

Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

'LL Grey', font

Essay

3 styles, 4 weights, 24 cuts

The work by Lausanne-based graphic designer Aurèle Sack that wins him this year’s Swiss Design Award consists of a newly created font that will be available from the end of 2014. LL Magenta is a sans-serif font whose proportions are slightly narrower than those of regular fonts. This innovation makes it appear lighter and less squat, but also recalls the familiar Helvetica Regular.
Aurèle Sack, who has specialised in designing fonts and editorials since graduating from ECAL, the University of Art and Design in Lausanne, wins the Swiss Design Award for the third time this year, after previous successes in 2006 and 2010.
The foundations of the LL Magenta font were laid back in 2004, when he was working on his diploma. Some years later, following initial experiments for further projects, Aurèle Sack returned to the design of the font. He reworked it in 2011, slightly altering the spacing of the letters and trying to incorporate elements of play into the typeface.
The result is a font in four versions featuring letters of differing width. It is this variation in the graphic design that gives the font its playful appearance. LL Magenta is a precise font that stands out without being obtrusive.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Aurèle Sack

 

Born

1977

Education

Graphic Designer

 

also in

2006 2010


 

Home page

www.aurelesack.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', Schrift
© Aurèle Sack

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

'LL Grey', Schrift

Essay

3 styles, 4 weights, 24 cuts

Die eingereichte Arbeit des Lausanner Grafikers Aurèle Sack, die mit dem diesjährigen Schweizer Designpreis ausgezeichnet wurde, besteht aus einer neu kreierten Schrift, die ab Ende 2014 erhältlich ist. LL Magenta ist eine serifenlosen Schrift, deren Proportionen leicht schmaler sind, als bei regulären Schriftarten. Diese Neuerung lässt die Schrift leichter und weniger gedrungen wirken, lehnt sich zugleich aber auch an die bereits bekannte Helvetica Regular an.
Aurèle Sack, der sich nach seiner Ausbildung an der ECAL in Lausanne auf die Gestaltung von Schriften und Editorials spezialisiert hat, gewinnt nach 2006 und 2010 dieses Jahr zum dritten Mal den Schweizer Designpreis.
Der Grundstein für die Schrift LL Magenta ist bereits 2004 im Rahmen seiner Diplomarbeit gelegt worden. Nach ersten Experimenten für weitere Projekte hat sich Aurèle Sack einige Jahre später erneut mit der Gestaltung der Schrift befasst. Im Jahr 2011 hat der Grafikdesigner die Schrift überarbeitet und die Laufweite der Buchstaben leicht verändert und versucht spielerische Aspekte in das entworfene Schriftbild mit einzubeziehen.
Entstanden ist dadurch eine Schrift mit vier verschiedenen Versionen mit unterschiedlichen Breiten der Buchstaben. Diese Variation der grafischen Gestaltung bringt den erzielten spielerischen Aspekt in das Schriftbild ein. LL Magenta ist eine präzise Schrift, die sich hervorhebt, aber dennoch unaufdringlich wirkt.
Martina Longo

Biografie

Name

Aurèle Sack

 

Geboren

1977

Ausbildung

Graphic Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2006 2010


 

Webseite

www.aurelesack.com