Archives
Current Year

Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', font
© Aurèle Sack

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

'LL Grey', font

Essay

3 styles, 4 weights, 24 cuts

The work by Lausanne-based graphic designer Aurèle Sack that wins him this year’s Swiss Design Award consists of a newly created font that will be available from the end of 2014. LL Magenta is a sans-serif font whose proportions are slightly narrower than those of regular fonts. This innovation makes it appear lighter and less squat, but also recalls the familiar Helvetica Regular.
Aurèle Sack, who has specialised in designing fonts and editorials since graduating from ECAL, the University of Art and Design in Lausanne, wins the Swiss Design Award for the third time this year, after previous successes in 2006 and 2010.
The foundations of the LL Magenta font were laid back in 2004, when he was working on his diploma. Some years later, following initial experiments for further projects, Aurèle Sack returned to the design of the font. He reworked it in 2011, slightly altering the spacing of the letters and trying to incorporate elements of play into the typeface.
The result is a font in four versions featuring letters of differing width. It is this variation in the graphic design that gives the font its playful appearance. LL Magenta is a precise font that stands out without being obtrusive.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Aurèle Sack

 

Born

1977

Education

Graphic Designer

 

also in

2006 2010


 

Home page

www.aurelesack.com

Archives
Année courante

Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

'LL Grey', police de caractères
© Aurèle Sack

Overview

Catégorie

Design graphique

 

Oeuvre

'LL Grey', police de caractères

Essai

3 styles, 4 weights, 24 cuts

Le graphiste lausannois Aurèle Sack a présenté un travail qui a reçu cette année le prix suisse de design ; il s’agit d’une police de caractères nouvellement créée et qui sera disponible à la fin de 2014. LL Magenta, c’est son nom, est une police sans sérif, dont les proportions sont plus élancées que ce n’est l’usage. Cette innovation donne aux caractères quelque chose de plus léger, de moins compact, même si LL Magenta rappelle un peu l’Helvetica Regular déjà bien connue.
Après sa formation à l’ECAL de Lausanne, Aurèle Sack se spécialise dans la création de polices de caractères et d’identités visuelles ; après 2006 et 2010, c’est la troisième fois qu’il remporte le prix suisse de design.
On peut voir dans son travail de diplôme de 2004 les premiers éléments de ce que sera LL Magenta. Après des expériences antérieures sur d’autres projets, Aurèle Sack s’est consacré à nouveau, quelques années plus tard, à la réalisation de cette police de caractères. En 2011 il la remanie et modifie légèrement l’espacement des lettres. Il essaie également d’intégrer des éléments ludiques dans son projet.
Le résultat, c’est une police de caractères en quatre versions ; les différences se font au niveau de la largeur des lettres. Cette variété dans la réalisation graphique met en valeur l’aspect ludique qui était l’un des objectifs du graphiste. LL Magenta est une police de caractères rigoureuse, qui ne passe pas inaperçue, mais qui, dans le même temps, n’a rien d’affecté.
Martina Longo

Biographie

Nom

Aurèle Sack

 

Né/née

1977

Formation

Graphic Designer

 

aussi en

2006 2010


 

Site web

www.aurelesack.com