Archives
Current Year

BIG-GAME: Elric Petit / Grégoire Jeanmonod / Augustin Scott de Martinville

‘Castor’, furniture

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© Takumi Ota

‘Scout’, watch

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

Overview

Category

Products and objects

 

Work

'Castor', furniture / 'Pen', Memorystick / 'Scout', watch / 'Cargo', toolbox

Essay

Make things better

Augustin Scott de Martinville, Grégoire Jeanmonod and Elric Petit are the brains behind the design collective BIG-GAME, which was founded in Lausanne in 2004. Alongside their work as designers, the trio also teach at ECAL, the University of Art and Design in Lausanne, passing on their practical experience and knowledge to young students.
They receive the Swiss Design Award for the third and last time in recognition of their outstanding achievements, on this occasion for a selection of current works including the ‘Castor’ furniture series, the ‘Pen’ memory stick, the ‘Scout’ watch and the ‘Cargo’ toolbox.
The combination of functionality, simple geometric shapes and uncluttered lines reflects the collective’s creative credo. Despite its radically clear formal language, BIG-GAME succeeds in giving each product and object a unique character, either by using an unconventional material or by reinterpreting its function, as with the design of the ‘Cargo’ toolbox for Alessi: here, the familiar container is deftly transformed into a lighter version that can be used for all manner of everyday objects – from a shoe cleaning kit to writing utensils.
What sets BIG-GAME apart is their ability to expand commonplace objects by giving them new and improved functions, materials or surfaces. The result is outstanding quality that also manifests itself in the trio’s successful collaboration with international firms around the world.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Grégoire Jeanmonod

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1978

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2006 2010


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Biography

Name

Elric Petit

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1978

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2010


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Biography

Name

A. Scott de Martinville

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1980

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2006 2010


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

BIG-GAME: Elric Petit / Grégoire Jeanmonod / Augustin Scott de Martinville

‘Castor’, Möbel

‘Castor’, Möbel
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, Möbel
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, Möbel
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, Möbel
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, Möbel
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, Möbel
© Takumi Ota

‘Scout’, Uhr

‘Scout’, Uhr
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, Uhr
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, Uhr
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, Uhr
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, Uhr
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, Uhr
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, Uhr
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, Werkzeugkiste

‘Cargo’, Werkzeugkiste
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, Werkzeugkiste
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, Werkzeugkiste
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, Werkzeugkiste
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, Werkzeugkiste
© BIG-GAME

Overview

Kategorie

Produkte und Objekte

 

Werk

'Castor', Möbel / 'Pen', Memorystick  / 'Scout', Uhr / 'Cargo', Werkzeugkiste

Essay

Make things better

Augustin Scott de Martinville, Grégoire Jeanmonod und Elric Petit sind die kreativen Köpfe hinter dem Designkollektiv BIG-GAME, das 2004 in Lausanne gegründet wurde. Alle drei unterrichten neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Designer auch an der ECAL in Lausanne und geben so ihr Wissen aus der Praxis an die jungen Studierenden weiter.
Zum dritten und letzten Mal erhalten sie den Schweizer Designpreis für ihre herausragende Leistung, diesmal für eine Auswahl aktueller Arbeiten, darunter die Möbelserie ‚Castor‘, den Memorystick ‚Pen‘, die Uhr ‚Scout‘ und die Toolbox ‚Cargo‘.
Die Kombination von Funktionalität, einfachen geometrischen Formen und klaren Linien hat das Designer-Trio als kreativen Leitgedanken verinnerlicht. Trotz der radikal klaren Formensprache vermag BIG-GAME jedem Produkt und jedem Objekt einen speziellen Charakter verleihen, sei es mit einem ungewöhnlichen Material oder einer Neuinterpretation der Funktion eines Produkts, wie sie beispielsweise mit dem Design der Toolbox ‚Cargo‘ für Alessi beweisen: Hier wird die altbekannte Werkzeugkiste kurzerhand in eine leichtere Version verwandelt, die als Behälter für verschiedenste Alltagsgegenstände – ob Schuhputzzeug oder Schreibutensilien – verwendet werden kann.
BIG-GAME ragen durch ihre Fähigkeit, bereits bekannte Objekte mit neuen, besseren Funktionen, Materialien oder Oberflächen zu erweitern, heraus. Eine hervorragende Qualität, die das Trio auch im Ausland in der erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Firmen unter Beweis stellt.
Martina Longo

Biografie

Name

Grégoire Jeanmonod

 

Gruppenname

BIG-GAME

 

Geboren

1978

Ausbildung

Industrial Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2006 2010


 

Webseite

www.big-game.ch

Biografie

Name

Elric Petit

 

Gruppenname

BIG-GAME

 

Geboren

1978

Ausbildung

Industrial Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2010


 

Webseite

www.big-game.ch

Biografie

Name

A. Scott de Martinville

 

Gruppenname

BIG-GAME

 

Geboren

1980

Ausbildung

Industrial Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2006 2010


 

Webseite

www.big-game.ch