Archives
Current Year

BIG-GAME: Elric Petit / Grégoire Jeanmonod / Augustin Scott de Martinville

‘Castor’, furniture

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, furniture
© Takumi Ota

‘Scout’, watch

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, watch
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, toolbox
© BIG-GAME

Overview

Category

Products and objects

 

Work

'Castor', furniture / 'Pen', Memorystick / 'Scout', watch / 'Cargo', toolbox

Essay

Make things better

Augustin Scott de Martinville, Grégoire Jeanmonod and Elric Petit are the brains behind the design collective BIG-GAME, which was founded in Lausanne in 2004. Alongside their work as designers, the trio also teach at ECAL, the University of Art and Design in Lausanne, passing on their practical experience and knowledge to young students.
They receive the Swiss Design Award for the third and last time in recognition of their outstanding achievements, on this occasion for a selection of current works including the ‘Castor’ furniture series, the ‘Pen’ memory stick, the ‘Scout’ watch and the ‘Cargo’ toolbox.
The combination of functionality, simple geometric shapes and uncluttered lines reflects the collective’s creative credo. Despite its radically clear formal language, BIG-GAME succeeds in giving each product and object a unique character, either by using an unconventional material or by reinterpreting its function, as with the design of the ‘Cargo’ toolbox for Alessi: here, the familiar container is deftly transformed into a lighter version that can be used for all manner of everyday objects – from a shoe cleaning kit to writing utensils.
What sets BIG-GAME apart is their ability to expand commonplace objects by giving them new and improved functions, materials or surfaces. The result is outstanding quality that also manifests itself in the trio’s successful collaboration with international firms around the world.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Grégoire Jeanmonod

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1978

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2006 2010


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Biography

Name

Elric Petit

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1978

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2010


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Biography

Name

A. Scott de Martinville

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1980

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2006 2010


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Archives
Année courante

BIG-GAME: Elric Petit / Grégoire Jeanmonod / Augustin Scott de Martinville

‘Castor’, meubles

‘Castor’, meubles
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, meubles
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, meubles
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, meubles
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, meubles
© BIG-GAME

‘Castor’, meubles
© Takumi Ota

‘Scout’, horloge

‘Scout’, horloge
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, horloge
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, horloge
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, horloge
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, horloge
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, horloge
© BIG-GAME

‘Scout’, horloge
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, boîte a outil

‘Cargo’, boîte a outil
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, boîte a outil
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, boîte a outil
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, boîte a outil
© BIG-GAME

‘Cargo’, boîte a outil
© BIG-GAME

Overview

Catégorie

Produits et objets

 

Oeuvre

'Castor', Möbel / 'Pen', Memorystick / 'Scout', montre / 'Cargo', boîte a outil

Essai

Make things better

Augustin Scott de Martinville, Grégoire Jeanmonod et Elric Petit sont les têtes chercheuses à l’origine du collectif de design BIG-GAME, qui a vu le jour en 2004 à Lausanne. Outre leur activité de designer, ils enseignent tous trois à l’ECAL à Lausanne, transmettant ainsi leur savoir-faire pratique aux jeunes étudiants.
Ce collectif obtient pour la troisième fois le Swiss Design Award couronnant leur contribution exceptionnelle, cette fois-ci pour une sélection de leurs travaux récents, dont la série de meubles «Castor», la clé USB «Pen», la montre «Scout» et la boîte à outil «Cargo».
Pour orienter sa ligne créatrice, ce trio de designer incorpore fonctionnalité, formes géométriques simples et lignes claires. Malgré la radicalité de son langage formel, BIG-GAME réussit à pourvoir chaque produit et chaque objet d’un attribut particulier, qu’il s’agisse d’un matériaux inhabituel ou d’une réinterprétation de la fonction d’un produit, à l’exemple de la boîte à outils «Cargo» conçue pour Alessi: la boîte à outil archiconnue est transformée en une version plus légère qui peut servir de contenant pour les objets usuels les plus divers - ustensiles de nettoyage pour chaussures, ou matériel de bureau.
BIG GAME se distingue par sa capacité à élargir la fonction d’objets connus en l’améliorant par un choix nouveau de matériaux ou de texture. Une qualité hors du commun, qui a propulsé le trio parmi les designers suisses appréciés à l’étranger, preuve en sont les mandats décrochés avec succès auprès de maisons internationales renommées.
Martina Longo

Biographie

Nom

Grégoire Jeanmonod

 

Collectif

BIG-GAME

 

Né/née

1978

Formation

Industrial Designer

 

aussi en

2006 2010


 

Site web

www.big-game.ch

Biographie

Nom

Elric Petit

 

Collectif

BIG-GAME

 

Né/née

1978

Formation

Industrial Designer

 

aussi en

2010


 

Site web

www.big-game.ch

Biographie

Nom

A. Scott de Martinville

 

Collectif

BIG-GAME

 

Né/née

1980

Formation

Industrial Designer

 

aussi en

2006 2010


 

Site web

www.big-game.ch