Archives
Current Year

Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, series of kitchen accessories
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, series of kitchen accessories
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, series of kitchen accessories
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, series of kitchen accessories
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, series of kitchen accessories
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, series of kitchen accessories
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, series of kitchen accessories
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, series of kitchen accessories
© Carlo Clopath

Overview

Category

Products and objects

 

Work

'Palutta 2012-2014', series of kitchen accessories

 

Reference

www.okro.com

Essay

Palutta – a series of kitchen accessories

The works of young industrial designer Carlo Clopath reflect the ruggedness and the wild, unspoilt nature of his native Graubünden. The temptation to touch his creations is almost irresistible, so sensual and intense is their aura. Carlo Clopath’s objects appeal to multiple senses; they create an atmosphere. In them, his stories, memories, incidents and experiences from his life can be both felt and seen.
Receiving a commission to design a series of cutlery and kitchen utensils for a restaurant, he went back to the tableware, customs and traditions of the Graubünden region. The utensils, such as the spoon made of maple wood, are turned and the wooden items used to eat with are treated with ‘urushi’, a durable, natural protective lacquer, using an ancient Japanese technique. For the collection, Clopath works with numerous different materials using a broad range of craft skills.
The award-winning ‘Palutta’ collection is produced industrially by a company in Graubünden.
Carlo Clopath’s experience working in a studio in Denmark and as artist in residence at the Statens Vaerksteder for Kunst in Copenhagen comes through in his objects, with their perfect interplay of naturalness and refinement, the unwrought and the sculpted.
It’s easy to believe that soup tastes better when served with the Palutta spoon.
Barbara Vlachos

Biography

Name

Carlo Clopath

 

Born

1986

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2016


 

Home page

www.carloclopath.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, Serie von Küchenaccessoires
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, Serie von Küchenaccessoires
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, Serie von Küchenaccessoires
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, Serie von Küchenaccessoires
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, Serie von Küchenaccessoires
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, Serie von Küchenaccessoires
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, Serie von Küchenaccessoires
© Carlo Clopath

‘Palutta 2012-2014’, Serie von Küchenaccessoires
© Carlo Clopath

Overview

Kategorie

Produkte und Objekte

 

Werk

'Palutta 2012-2014', Serie von Küchenaccessoires

 

Referenz

www.okro.com

Essay

Palutta – Serie von Küchenaccessoires

In den Arbeiten des jungen Bündner Industriedesigners spiegelt sich die Kargheit, die wilde, ursprüngliche Natur seiner Heimat wieder. Dem Wunsch, seine Objekte zu berühren, kann man kaum widerstehen; sie haben eine sinnliche, intensive Ausstrahlung. Carlo Clopath's Objekte sind multisensorisch, sie schaffen Atmosphäre. Seine Erlebnisse, Geschichten, Erinnerungen, Erfahrungen sind darin spür- und sichtbar.
Für den Auftrag eines Restaurants, eine Serie von Küchenaccessoires zu entwerfen, hat er sich intensiv mit der Tischkultur, den Bräuchen und Traditionen des Bündnerlandes befasst. Die Utensilien, z.B. der Löffel aus Ahorn – werden gedrechselt und die Holzteile, welche mit den Lippen in Kontakt kommen, werden mit einer uralten japanischen Technik „Urushi" behandelt. Ein beständiger, natürlicher Schutzlack. Für die Kollektion arbeitet Clopath mit vielen unterschiedlichen Materialien, für deren Verarbeitung eine breite Palette von Handwerkstechniken zur Anwendung kommen.
Die prämierte Kollektion „Paluta" wird von einer Bündner Firma in Serie produziert.
Dass Carlo Clopath Arbeitserfahrung in einem Atelier in Dänemark gemacht hat und als Artist in Residence in den Statens Vaerksteder for Kunst in Kopenhagen war, ist seinen Objekten anzusehen. Das Zusammenspiel von Natürlichkeit und Raffinesse, vom Rohen und Geformten gelingt ihm perfekt.
Gut möglich, dass die Suppe besser schmeckt, wenn sie mit dem Palutta Löffel serviert wird.
Barbara Vlachos

Biografie

Name

Carlo Clopath

 

Geboren

1986

Ausbildung

Industrial Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2016


 

Webseite

www.carloclopath.com