Archives
Current Year

Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'Les cendres au fond du jardin', photo book

Essay

Ashes at the bottom of the garden

Emilie Muller receives the Swiss Design Award for the second time this year, having first won it in 2006. The photographer, who trained at ECAL, the University of Art and Design in Lausanne, lives and works in the city. Her works invariably incorporate elements of both reportage and fashion photography.
‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’ (‘Ashes at the bottom of the garden’), a book in two volumes, contains a number of photographs of people and objects close to her. The work is constructed on three pictorial levels that are linked together thematically: a reportage of a trip to Tunisia with her father; archive pictures of her family; and photographs of her own projects.
The title is a reference to a personal family experience: following the death of her grandparents, whose ashes were scattered in the garden in front of the family home, in 2006 Emilie Muller discovered numerous records and photographs from her family’s past while clearing the house.
She combined her own research, the archive material and reportage to create a work that operates on a number of different levels but is unified by the essential themes of memory, personal experience and coming to terms with her family’s past. For all its personal intimacy, Emilie Muller’s photographic work deals with universal topics that everyone who sees it will recognise from their own experience.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Emilie Muller

 

Born

1980

Education

Photographer

 

also in

2006

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, Fotobuch
© Emilie Muller

Overview

Kategorie

Fotografie

 

Werk

'Les cendres au fond du jardin', Fotobuch

Essay

Les cendres au fond du jardin

Emilie Muller erhält nach 2006 den Schweizer Designpreis dieses Jahr zum zweiten Mal. Die Fotografin, die ihre Ausbildung an der ECAL abgeschlossen hat, arbeitet und lebt in Lausanne. Sie befasst sich in ihren Arbeiten stets mit Themen, die sich zwischen Reportage und Modefotografie bewegen.
‚Les cendres au fond du jardin‘, eine Arbeit bestehend aus zwei Büchern, beinhaltet mehrere Fotografien aus dem unmittelbaren persönlichen Umfeld von Emilie Muller. Drei Bildebenen bestimmen den Aufbau der Arbeit: Die Reportage einer Tunesienreise mit dem Vater, Archivbilder aus der Familie der Fotografin sowie Bilder eigener realisierter Projekte werden in der Arbeit thematisch in Verbindung gebracht.
Der Titel der Arbeit bezieht sich auf ein persönliches Ereignis aus der Familie; 2006, nach dem Tod ihrer Grosseltern, deren Asche im Garten vor dem Haus der Familie verstreut wurde, entdeckte Emilie Muller während der Räumung des Hauses zahlreiche Aufnahmen und Fotografien aus der Vergangenheit ihrer Familie.
Entstanden ist aus den eigenen Recherchen, dem Archivmaterial und der Reportage eine Arbeit aus mehreren unterschiedlichen Ebenen, die sich jedoch alle mit dem essentiellen Thema der Erinnerung, persönlichen Erfahrung und Aufarbeitung der familiären Vergangenheit befassen. Trotz sehr persönlichem Inhalt spricht Emilie Mullers fotografische Arbeit universelle Themen an, die jeder Betrachter aus eigener Erfahrung kennt.
Martina Longo

Biografie

Name

Emilie Muller

 

Geboren

1980

Ausbildung

Photographer

 

auch im Jahr

2006