Archives
Current Year

Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, photo book
© Emilie Muller

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'Les cendres au fond du jardin', photo book

Essay

Ashes at the bottom of the garden

Emilie Muller receives the Swiss Design Award for the second time this year, having first won it in 2006. The photographer, who trained at ECAL, the University of Art and Design in Lausanne, lives and works in the city. Her works invariably incorporate elements of both reportage and fashion photography.
‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’ (‘Ashes at the bottom of the garden’), a book in two volumes, contains a number of photographs of people and objects close to her. The work is constructed on three pictorial levels that are linked together thematically: a reportage of a trip to Tunisia with her father; archive pictures of her family; and photographs of her own projects.
The title is a reference to a personal family experience: following the death of her grandparents, whose ashes were scattered in the garden in front of the family home, in 2006 Emilie Muller discovered numerous records and photographs from her family’s past while clearing the house.
She combined her own research, the archive material and reportage to create a work that operates on a number of different levels but is unified by the essential themes of memory, personal experience and coming to terms with her family’s past. For all its personal intimacy, Emilie Muller’s photographic work deals with universal topics that everyone who sees it will recognise from their own experience.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Emilie Muller

 

Born

1980

Education

Photographer

 

also in

2006

Archives
Année courante

Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

‘Les cendres au fond du jardin’, livre de photos
© Emilie Muller

Overview

Catégorie

Photographie

 

Oeuvre

'Les cendres au fond du jardin', livre de photos

Essai

Les cendres au fond du jardin

Après un premier succès en 2006, Emilie Muller obtient cette année pour la seconde fois le Swiss Design Award. Ayant terminé sa formation à l’ECAL, la photographe travaille et vit à Lausanne. Ses travaux abordent régulièrement des sujets à mi-chemin entre reportage et photographie de mode.
Constitué de deux volumes, le projet «Les cendres au fond du jardin» comporte plusieurs clichés provenant de la proche parenté de la photographe. Ce travail est structuré selon trois plans d’approche imbriqués par thèmes dans le travail: un reportage sur un voyage en Tunisie avec le père, des images d’archive de la famille de la photographe et des clichés tirés de projets personnels.
Le titre du travail fait allusion à un évènement familial: en 2006, après la mort de ses grands-parents dont les cendres avaient été dispersées dans le jardin, Emilie Muller a découvert, lorsque la maison a été vidée, de nombreux clichés et photographies retraçant l’histoire de ses ancêtres.
A partir de ses propres recherches, des documents d’archive et du reportage, elle a composé un travail à niveaux multiples qui tous traitent essentiellement de la mémoire, de l’expérience personnelle et du passé familial. Malgré son ancrage très personnel, le travail photographique d’Emilie Muller aborde des sujets universels que chaque spectateur connaît d’expérience, intimement.
Martina Longo

Biographie

Nom

Emilie Muller

 

Né/née

1980

Formation

Photographer

 

aussi en

2006