Archives
Current Year

Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, series of photographies, diploma work
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, series of photographies, diploma work
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, series of photographies, diploma work
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, series of photographies, diploma work
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, series of photographies, diploma work
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, series of photographies, diploma work
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, series of photographies, diploma work
© Julien Gremaud

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'Thatcher is Dead', series of photographies, diploma work

Essay

Thatcher is dead

Julien Gremaud’s photographs deal with press images and the way they are influenced and disseminated by the media. The work is centred on a single major event in British political history: the death of former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher.
The final-year project, with which Gremaud graduated from ECAL, the University of Art and Design in Lausanne, in 2013, consists of a publication in the form of a number of collages as well as large-format prints. Gremaud describes the combination of a number of superimposed images drawn from newspaper photographs from the Thatcher era and contemporary pictures as an ‘anti-dated bitmap collage’.
The intermeshing of numerous individual images inevitably results in a whole that is time-consuming and difficult to read; deprived of dates, comments or points of reference, the viewer is forced to examine the work closely in order to make sense of it.
The technique used for the collages leaves them somewhere between abstraction and platitude: newspaper clippings merge with coloured press photos to create a complex, interwoven network that requires intense engagement from the viewer.
In this photographic project, Julien Gremaud has brought together his interests in a variety of themes including politics, the media, history, communication and sociology and translated them into a visually fascinating creation.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Julien Gremaud

 

Born

1984

Education

Photographer


 

Home page

www.juliengremaud.ch

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, Fotoserie, Diplomarbeit
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, Fotoserie, Diplomarbeit
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, Fotoserie, Diplomarbeit
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, Fotoserie, Diplomarbeit
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, Fotoserie, Diplomarbeit
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, Fotoserie, Diplomarbeit
© Julien Gremaud

‘Thatcher is Dead’, Fotoserie, Diplomarbeit
© Julien Gremaud

Overview

Kategorie

Fotografie

 

Werk

'Thatcher is Dead', Fotoserie, Diplomarbeit

Essay

Thatcher is Dead

Julien Gremauds Fotografien befassen sich mit Pressebildern und deren Beeinflussung und Verbreitung durch die Medien. Die Arbeit ist zentriert auf ein einzelnes grosses Ereignis der britischen Politikgeschichte, der Tod der ehemaligen Premierministerin Margaret Thatcher.
Die Diplomarbeit, mit der Gremaud 2013 sein Studium an der ECAL abschliesst, besteht aus einer Publikation in Form von mehreren Collagen sowie grossformatigen Prints. Die Verbindung von mehreren übereinandergelegten Bildern aus Zeitungsbilder der damaligen Thatcher-Ära und zeitgenössischen Bildern beschreibt Gremaud als ‚anti-datierte Bitmap-Collage‘.
Das Geflecht aus zahlreichen einzelnen Bildern wird unweigerlich zu einem langsam und schwierig zu lesenden Ganzen; ohne Datierung, ohne Kommentar, ohne Anhaltspunkte versehen, ist der Betrachter gezwungen genau hinzusehen.
Die Collagen bewegen sich durch die gewählte Technik zwischen Abstraktion und Trivialität, lassen Zeitungsbilder mit farbigen Pressefotos verschmelzen und erzeugen dadurch ein komplexes Geflecht, das vom Betrachter eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dem Bild verlangt.
Das Interesse für unterschiedliche Themen aus Politik, Medien, Geschichte, Kommunikation und Soziologie hat Julien Gremaud zusammengeführt und auf visuell ansprechende Weise in dieser Fotoarbeit umgesetzt.
Martina Longo

Biografie

Name

Julien Gremaud

 

Geboren

1984

Ausbildung

Photographer


 

Webseite

www.juliengremaud.ch