Archives
Current Year

Sandro Marzo

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Overview

Category

Fashion and Textile Design

 

Work

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014

Essay

Flickering in black and white

After studying at the Academy of Art and Design in Basel, Sandro Marzo set up his own label in 2011 with the generous support of family and friends. It achieved its first successes with appearances at Mode Suisse and the award of the Design Prize Switzerland in the ‘Best Newcomer’ category. This year, the Federal Design Jury presents the fashion designer with his first Swiss Design Award.
The collection submitted features strikingly clear cuts and the use of traditional materials, making for a novel visual and tactile experience in men’s fashion. Sandro Marzo uses a combination of natural materials including fine leather, coarse piqué, felt, linen, wool, cashmere, porcelain and horn. The language of form and material is redolent of the rough, barren, rural south Italian landscape where Marzo’s family has its roots. He employs clear, standardised cuts that draw inspiration from liturgical vestments, monks’ habits, priests’ robes and military uniforms. Equally clear is the collection’s palette, in which muted colours such as grey, white, black, beige and dark green predominate.
An important element of the collection is its production: it is made in small family enterprises in Italy, Spain and Serbia. Sandro Marzo deliberately eschews cheaper methods of production, placing his trust instead in small and modest yet high-quality production and craft businesses.
Sandro Marzo is a young, up-and-coming fashion designer who, with his label, makes conscious decisions, takes bold risks and genuinely embodies his own fashion. He does not create anything that he would not wear himself.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Sandro Marzo

 

Born

1986

Education

Fashion designer

 

also in

2015 2016


 

Home page

www.sandromarzo.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Sandro Marzo

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Overview

Kategorie

Mode- und Textildesign

 

Werk

Modekollektion, Frühling/Sommer 2014

Essay

Flimmern in Schwarz-weiss

Nach Abschluss seines Studiums an der HGK Basel gründete Sandro Marzo 2011 mit der grosszügigen Unterstützung von Freunden und Familie sein eigenes Label. Erste Erfolge verzeichnete das junge Label mit Auftritten an der Mode Suisse und der Auszeichnung des Design Preis Schweiz in der Kategorie ‚Best Newcomer‘. Die Eidgenössische Jury für Design zeichnet den Modedesigner dieses Jahr zum ersten Mal mit dem Schweizer Designpreis aus.
Die eingereichte Kollektion besticht durch die Klarheit der Schnitte und durch die Verwendung traditioneller Materialien, welche die Männermode sowohl visuell als auch haptisch neu erleben lassen. Sandro Marzo kombiniert in seiner Arbeit unterschiedliche natürlichen Materialien wie feines Leder, grober Strick, Filz, Leinen, Wolle, Kaschmir, Porzellan und Horn. Die verwendete Form- und Materialsprache erinnert dabei stark an die rurale, rauhe und karge süditalienische Landschaft, wo Marzos familäre Wurzeln liegen. Er verwendet klare, einheitliche Schnitte, die sich an liturgische Kleidung, Mönchskutten, priesterliche Gewänder und militärische Uniformen anlehnen. Klar ist auch die Farbpalette, die der Designer in seiner Kollektion verwendet; gedeckte Farben wie grau, weiss, schwarz, beige und dunkles Grün dominieren.
Ein wichtiges Element stellt die Produktion der Kollektion dar, die der Designer in kleinen, Familienmanufakturen in Italien, Spanien und Serbien produzieren lässt. Er hat sich bewusst gegen die Möglichkeit einer günstigeren Produktion entschieden und setzt somit auf kleine, überschaubare, aber qualitativ hochwertige Produktions- und Handwerksbetriebe.
Sandro Marzo ist ein junger aufstrebender Modedesigner, der mit seinem Label bewusst Entscheidungen trifft, mutig Risiken eingeht und seine eigene Mode authentisch verkörpert. Er kreiert nichts, dass er nicht selbst tragen würde.
Martina Longo

Biografie

Name

Sandro Marzo

 

Geboren

1986

Ausbildung

Fashion designer

 

auch im Jahr

2015 2016


 

Webseite

www.sandromarzo.com