Archives
Current Year

Sandro Marzo

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Overview

Category

Fashion and Textile Design

 

Work

Fashion collection, spring/summer 2014

Essay

Flickering in black and white

After studying at the Academy of Art and Design in Basel, Sandro Marzo set up his own label in 2011 with the generous support of family and friends. It achieved its first successes with appearances at Mode Suisse and the award of the Design Prize Switzerland in the ‘Best Newcomer’ category. This year, the Federal Design Jury presents the fashion designer with his first Swiss Design Award.
The collection submitted features strikingly clear cuts and the use of traditional materials, making for a novel visual and tactile experience in men’s fashion. Sandro Marzo uses a combination of natural materials including fine leather, coarse piqué, felt, linen, wool, cashmere, porcelain and horn. The language of form and material is redolent of the rough, barren, rural south Italian landscape where Marzo’s family has its roots. He employs clear, standardised cuts that draw inspiration from liturgical vestments, monks’ habits, priests’ robes and military uniforms. Equally clear is the collection’s palette, in which muted colours such as grey, white, black, beige and dark green predominate.
An important element of the collection is its production: it is made in small family enterprises in Italy, Spain and Serbia. Sandro Marzo deliberately eschews cheaper methods of production, placing his trust instead in small and modest yet high-quality production and craft businesses.
Sandro Marzo is a young, up-and-coming fashion designer who, with his label, makes conscious decisions, takes bold risks and genuinely embodies his own fashion. He does not create anything that he would not wear himself.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Sandro Marzo

 

Born

1986

Education

Fashion designer

 

also in

2015 2016


 

Home page

www.sandromarzo.com

Archives
Année courante

Sandro Marzo

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014
© Pete Cameron Dominkovits

Overview

Catégorie

Design de mode et de textile

 

Oeuvre

Collection de mode, printemps/été 2014

Essai

Scintiller en noir et blanc

Ayant terminé ses études à l’Haute école d’art de Bâle, Sandro Marzo a fondé en 2011 son propre label, grâce au généreux soutien d’amis et de sa famille. Le capital initial pour concrétiser les projets de ce designer de mode a été fourni par l’héritage paternel. Le jeune label a connu ses premiers succès en participant à Mode Suisse et en décrochant une distinction dans la catégorie «Best Newcomer» au prix du design suisse. Le jury fédéral décerne cette année pour la première fois un Swiss Design Award à Sandro Marzo.
La collection présentée séduit par la clarté de la coupe et l’usage de matériaux traditionnels qui donne vie à cette mode masculine tant au plan visuel que tactile. Dans ses compositions, le designer combine les matériaux naturels les plus divers, convoquant cuir fin, corde brute, feutre, lin, laine, cachemire, porcelaine et corne. Le langage formel et matériel qu’il emploie rappelle clairement les paysages rudes et arides de l’Italie du Sud rurale, où la famille de Marzo puise ses racines. Il joue sur des coupes claires et unifiées qui s’inspirent d’habits liturgiques, des robes de moine, de vêtements de prêtre voire d’uniformes militaires. La palette adoptée par le designer est tout aussi intelligible: couleurs sourdes telles gris, blanc, noir, beige, sable et vert foncé dominent.
Le soin porté à la production est l’un des éléments importants de la collection que le designer tient à faire fabriquer par de petites manufactures familiales en Italie, en Espagne et en Serbie. Consciemment, il a renoncé à la facilité du bon marché, misant de la sorte sur une production en petite série, confiée à des unités artisanales de taille modeste mais fournissant des pièces d’excellente qualité.
Sandro Marzo est un jeune designer de mode ambitieux qui, pour son label, fait des choix mûrement réfléchis et prend courageusement des risques. Il incarne sa propre mode de façon authentique, il ne crée rien qu’il ne porterait lui-même.
Martina Longo

Biographie

Nom

Sandro Marzo

 

Né/née

1986

Formation

Fashion designer

 

aussi en

2015 2016


 

Site web

www.sandromarzo.com