Archives
Current Year

Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Series of photographies
© Virginie Rebetez

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'Under Cover', Series of photographies

Essay

Under cover

The photographic works of Virginie Rebetez, who completed her studies at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam in 2008, tackle unconventional themes that evoke the fleetingness and ephemerality of life. Rites of transience, occult ceremonies, death, the beyond, the hidden and the undiscovered: all feature prominently in her oeuvre. 
The Lausanne-based photographer's 2013 project ‘Under Cover', which wins this year's Swiss Design Award, was created while she was staying in Johannesburg. Visiting a large cemetery in Soweto, she noticed gravestones swathed in various materials. These are part of a widely practised ritual that takes place when the gravestone is being laid: as soon as it is in position, the family cover it with coloured cloths, fabrics or plastic to conceal the identity of the deceased. After an unspecified period that can be anything from a couple of weeks to years, another ritual sees the relatives uncover the stone once again, thus enabling the departed to make the symbolic passage into the beyond.
In her work, Virginie Rebetez has captured the element of the undiscovered, the concealed and the transitory in this South African grave ritual and translated it into a form of artistry reminiscent of monuments and sculptures. The black background of the thirteen-part series brings the wrapped gravestones to the fore, thus emphasising the three-dimensionality of the objects and rendering this fleeting, diffuse ritual tangible.
Thematically and visually, Rebetez's works invariably inhabit a twilight zone between reportage and art photography, the here and the beyond, life and death.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Virginie Rebetez

 

Born

1979

Education

Photographer

 

also in

2016

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

‘Under Cover’, Fotoserie
© Virginie Rebetez

Overview

Kategorie

Fotografie

 

Werk

'Under Cover', Fotoserie

Essay

Under Cover

Virginie Rebetez, die 2008 ihr Studium an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam abgeschlossen hat, interessiert sich in ihren fotografischen Arbeiten für ungewöhnliche Themen, die sich mit der Flüchtigkeit und Vergänglichkeit des Lebens beschäftigen. Rituale des Übergangs, okkulte Zeremonien, Tod, Jenseits, Verborgenes und Unentdecktes sind treffende Begriffe für die Beschreibung ihrer Arbeiten.  
Die mit dem diesjährigen Schweizer Designpreis ausgezeichnete Arbeit der Lausanner Fotografin mit dem Titel ‚Under Cover‘ ist 2013 während einem Auslandaufenthalt in Johannesburg entstanden. Auf einem grossen Friedhof in Soweto wurde sie auf Grabsteine aufmerksam, die mit unterschiedlichen Materialien eingepackt sind. Diese sind Teil eines weit verbreiteten Rituals, das während der Grabsteinlegung stattfindet: Unmittelbar nach der Platzierung des Steins wird dieser von der Familie mit farbigen Tüchern, Stoffen oder Plastik bedeckt, um die Identität des Verstorbenen zu verbergen. Nach einer unbestimmten Zeit, nach ein paar Wochen oder manchmal sogar Jahren, wird der Stein während einem weiteren Ritual von den Angehörigen enthüllt, um so dem Verstorbenen den symbolischen Übergang ins Jenseits zu ermöglichen.
Die Fotografin hat in ihrer Arbeit den Moment des Unentdeckten, des Verhüllten, des Transitorischen dieses südafrikanischen Grabrituals festgehalten und in eine künstlerische Form gebracht, die an Monumente, Skulpturen und Plastiken erinnert. Der schwarze Hintergrund der dreizehnteiligen Serie rückt die eingehüllten Grabsteine in den Vordergrund und betont dadurch den dreidimensionalen Aspekt der Objekte. Das flüchtige und diffuse Ritual wird greifbar.
Thematisch wie auch visuell bewegt sich Rebetez in ihrer Arbeit stets in Zwischenwelten: zwischen Reportage und Kunstfotografie, Diesseits und Jenseits, Leben und Tod.
Martina Longo

Biografie

Name

Virginie Rebetez

 

Geboren

1979

Ausbildung

Photographer

 

auch im Jahr

2016