Archives
Current Year

Yann Mathys

'Reverso', separation system, diploma work
© Yann Mathys

'Reverso', separation system, diploma work
© Yann Mathys

'Reverso', separation system, diploma work
© Yann Mathys

'Reverso', separation system, diploma work
© Yann Mathys

'Reverso', separation system, diploma work
© Yann Mathys

Overview

Category

Products and objects

 

Work

'Reverso', separation system, diploma work

Essay

Reverso

A light, airy, mobile wall whose surface structure can be changed at any time: that’s the idea behind the ‘Reverso’ separation system, which wins Yann Mathys his first Swiss Design Award and also marks his graduation from ECAL, the University of Art and Design in Lausanne.
‘Reverso’ is the product of a series of experimental research works using paper, a material that began to fascinate the young industrial designer during his studies. The small scales that make up the room divider consist of a material that is like paper, but much more stable: Tyvek, an extremely hard-wearing and mouldable non-woven fabric that is often used as packaging or for protective clothing. In ‘Reverso’ it is repurposed as an assembly of small individual parts that can be manipulated as desired.
The positions of the individual scales can be changed by hand or using a specially made squeegee. This enables the user to ‘draw’ a pattern, design or motif of their choice on the divider, depending on the situation, space or incident light.
Martina Longo

Biography

Name

Yann Mathys

 

Born

1989

Education

Product designer

 

also in

2017


 

Home page

eglistudio.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Yann Mathys

'Reverso'‚ Raumtrennungssystem, Diplomarbeit
© Yann Mathys

'Reverso'‚ Raumtrennungssystem, Diplomarbeit
© Yann Mathys

'Reverso'‚ Raumtrennungssystem, Diplomarbeit
© Yann Mathys

'Reverso'‚ Raumtrennungssystem, Diplomarbeit
© Yann Mathys

'Reverso'‚ Raumtrennungssystem, Diplomarbeit
© Yann Mathys

Overview

Kategorie

Produkte und Objekte

 

Werk

'Reverso', Raumtrennungssystem, Diplomarbeit

Essay

Reverso

Eine leichte, luftig wirkende, mobile Wand, deren Oberflächenstruktur jederzeit verändert werden kann. Diese Idee steckt hinter dem Raumtrenner ‚Reverso‘, mit der Yann Mathys zum ersten Mal mit dem Schweizer Designpreis ausgezeichnet wird und zugleich seine Ausbildung an der ECAL in Lausanne abschliesst.
‚Reverso‘ ist aus einer Reihe experimenteller Recherchearbeiten mit Papier entstanden; ein Material, das den jungen Industriedesigner schon während seiner Ausbildung fasziniert. Die kleinen Lamellen, aus denen der Raumtrenner besteht, sind aus einem papierähnlichen, jedoch weitaus stabileren Material hergestellt. Tyvek, ein äusserst strapazierfähiger und zugleich formbarer Vliessstoff, der oft als Verpackungsmaterial oder Schutzbekleidung verwendet wird, wird in Mathys ‚Reverso‘ zu kleinen formbaren Einzelteilen umfunktioniert.
Mit der Hand oder einem speziell angefertigten Spachtel können die einzelnen Lamellen in ihrer Position verändert werden. Je nach Situation, Raum oder Lichteinfall kann auf dem Raumtrenner ein beliebiges Muster, eine Zeichnung oder ein frei wählbares Sujet ‚gezeichnet‘ werden.
Martina Longo

Biografie

Name

Yann Mathys

 

Geboren

1989

Ausbildung

Product designer

 

auch im Jahr

2017


 

Webseite

eglistudio.com