Archives
Current Year

About the year 2016

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

Exhibition photographies © FOC
© FOC

'Swiss Design Awards' exhibition

Swiss Design Awards 2016 in Basel

The Federal Design Commission is happy to present the 13 winners of the 2016 Swiss Design Competition in Basel, in the context of Design Miami/Basel and Art Basel. Exceptional financial requirements have led to the re-duc-tion of the number of prizes this year, making the jury‘s task more complex as the quality of the projects and the diversity of research presented at the competition certainly required more awards! One should underline the excellent level of the selected projects and how difficult it is to choose one proposal at the expense of another within the diversity of fields that make up Switzerland’s design world nowadays. The awarded works are distinguished by their precision and inventiveness, the professional and contextual competences, as well as the practices’ dynamism that displaces the cursor of our expectations. One should notice the strong presence of photography within the 2016 selection along with supreme creative disciplines such as graphic design, product design and, since several years, fashion. The exhibition and its accompanying publication are an important platform for numerous young talents who found here an initial form of diffusion of their practice; the prizes reward those who, after the jury process, have interested, delighted or disturbed a group of experts. Now, at the first public viewing of the show, it‘s time for visitors to extend this discovery and share it with their own networks.

Lionel Bovier, Chair of the Federal Design Commission

Competition

Organised annually by the FOC since 1918, Switzerland's leading national design competition aims to create platforms that help the competition winners advance their careers and present their work to a wider audience.

The prize money for the Swiss Design Award is a monetary sum of 25,000 Swiss francs. By recommendation of the Federal Design Commission, this year 13 designers were honoured in the categories of photography (4), graphic design (3), fashion and textile design (3), products and objects (2) and scenography (1).

Jury

Chair
Bovier Lionel
Directeur mamco, Genève


Members
Benner Laurent
Visueller Gestalter, London

Cavadini Ossanna Nicoletta, Chiasso
Direttrice m.a.x.museo

Hefti Christoph
Textildesigner, Brüssel

Lehmann Aude
Graphiste, Zurich

Menzi Renate
Leiterin Designsammlung Museum für Gestaltung Zürich

Wegener Heidi
Organisationsberaterin, Meilen


Experts
Ince Catherine
Senior Curator, Design, Architecture and Digital Department
Victoria and Albert Museum, London

Franck, Tatyana
Directrice Musée de l'Elysée, Lausanne

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Über den Jahrgang 2016

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Fotografien der Ausstellung © BAK
© BAK

Ausstellung 'Schweizer Designpreise‘

Swiss Design Awards 2016 in Basel

Die Eidgenössische Designkommission freut sich, die 13 Gewinner des Schweizer Designpreises 2016 in Basel im Kontext der Design Miami/ Basel und der Art Basel zu präsentieren. Ausserordentliche finanzielle Anforderungen haben dieses Jahr zu einer Verringerung der Anzahl der zu vergebenden Preise geführt, was die Aufgabe der Jury umso komplexer gestaltete, da die Qualität der zum Wettbewerb eingereichten Projekte und die Vielfalt der Forschungsansätze ganz ohne Zweifel eine höhere Anzahl von Preisen verdient hätte! Dabei sollte das hervorragende Niveau der ausgewählten Beiträge und die daraus erwachsende Schwierigkeit betont werden, einen Vorschlag zu Ungunsten eines anderen auszuwählen und dies angesichts der Vielfalt der unterschiedlichen Felder, die derzeit die Schweizer Designwelt umfasst. Die ausgewählten Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch ihre Präzision und ihren Erfindungsreichtum aus, durch ihre besonderen professionellen und kontextuellen Kompetenzen sowie durch die Dynamik der gezeigten Praktiken, die unseren Erwartungshorizont neu definieren. Bemerkenswert ist bei der diesjährigen Auswahl die starke Präsenz der Fotografie, neben den „Königsdisziplinen“ Grafikdesign, Produktdesign und, seit mehreren Jahren, der Mode. Die Ausstellung und die sie begleitende Publikation stellen schon jetzt wichtige Plattformen für die jungen Talente dar, die hier einen ersten Ort der Öffentlichkeit ihrer kreativen Praxis gefunden haben; die Preise belohnen jene, die während des Auswahlprozesses die Jury zu interessieren, zu begeistern oder zu verstören vermochten – ein Expertenteam, das zum ersten Publikum dieser Ausstellung wurde. Nun sind allerdings die Ausstellungsbesucher gefragt, die Positionen selbst zu entdecken und in ihren jeweiligen eigenen Netzwerken zu teilen.

Lionel Bovier, Präsident der Eidgenössischen Designkommission

Wettbewerb

Der wichtigste nationale Wettbewerb zur Förderung des Schweizer Designs, den das BAK seit 1918 jährlich organisiert, soll Plattformen schaffen. Diese helfen den Gewinnerinnen und Gewinnern des Wettbewerbs, in ihrer beruflichen Karriere weiterzukommen und ihr Schaffen einer grösseren Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren.

Die Auszeichnung der Schweizer Designpreise besteht aus einem Geldbetrag von CHF 25‘000. Auf Empfehlung der Eidgenössischen Designkommission werden in diesem Jahr 13 Designerinnen und Designer in den Bereichen Fotografie (4), Grafikdesign (3), Mode- und Textildesign (3), Produkte und Objekte (2) und Szenografie (1) ausgezeichnet.

Jury

Präsident
Bovier Lionel
Directeur mamco, Genève


Mitglieder
Benner Laurent
Visueller Gestalter, London

Cavadini Ossanna Nicoletta, Chiasso
Direttrice m.a.x.museo

Hefti Christoph
Textildesigner, Brüssel

Lehmann Aude
Graphiste, Zurich

Menzi Renate
Leiterin Designsammlung Museum für Gestaltung Zürich

Wegener Heidi
Organisationsberaterin, Meilen


Experten
Ince Catherine
Senior Curator, Design, Architecture and Digital Department
Victoria and Albert Museum, London

Franck, Tatyana
Directrice Musée de l'Elysée, Lausanne