Archives
Current Year

Team'77: Erich Gschwind, André Gürtler, Christian Mengelt

Team’77, André Gürtler, Christian Mengelt, Erich Gschwind
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77, André Gürtler, Christian Mengelt, Erich Gschwind
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77, Christian Mengelt, Erich Gschwind, André Gürtler
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77, Typografien, Detail
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77, ‹Von der Helvetica zur Haas Unica›, in: Typografische Monatsblätter›, TM4/1980
© courtesy of the artists

Team'77

André Gürtler and Christian Mengelt founded the Letterform Research & Design Team in 1974 and Team'77, Letterform Research & Design together with Erich Gschwind in 1977, as an independent partnership for typeface design projects. Team'77 has produced the following printing fonts with and on behalf of the following companies: Cyrillic Gothic (1974) and Alpin Gothic (1974) for Compugraphic Corporation (USA); Media (1976) and Signa (1978) for Bobst Graphic (Lausanne) and Autologic (USA); and Avant Garde Gothic, Oblique (1977) for ITC, International Typeface Corporation (USA). In 1980, Team'77 developed the legendary Haas Unica font for the Haas Type Foundry in Münchenstein.

André Gürtler, 1936

Typographer, type designer and lecturer, Therwil

After training as a compositor, André Gürtler studied typographic design at the Basel School of Design under Emil Ruder. Thereafter he worked at various locations, including the Monotype Corporation in Salfords, England and Atelier Adrian Frutiger in Paris. From 1965 to 2000 he taught type design at the Basel School of Design. He has been a guest lecturer at various design schools and universities in Europe, the US and Mexico. He is the author of numerous publications in various specialist journals and has been a member of editorial staff at the journal Typografische Monatsblätter.

Christian Mengelt, 1938

Graphic designer, type designer and lecturer, Blauen

Christian Mengelt studied as a sign painter and then as a graphic designer at the Basel School of Design under Armin Hofmann. After setting up his own studio in Basel he embarked on collaborations with various design and advertising agencies, including GGK (Basel) and Mendel & Oberer in Munich. From 1972 to 2001 he taught type design at the Basel School of Design. He has been a guest lecturer at various design schools and universities in Europe, the US and Mexico, and is the author of numerous publications in specialist journals.

Erich Gschwind, 1947

Typographer and type designer, Metzerlen

Erich Gschwind trained as a compositor and then as a typographic designer in the specialist book printing and typography courses at the Basel School of Design, also under Emil Ruder. Thereafter, he worked as a typographic designer in various printing houses and was responsible for corporate design at the medical science publisher S. Karger AG in Basel, for which he designed numerous scientific publications.

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Team'77: Erich Gschwind, André Gürtler, Christian Mengelt

Team’77, André Gürtler, Christian Mengelt, Erich Gschwind
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77, André Gürtler, Christian Mengelt, Erich Gschwind
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77, Christian Mengelt, Erich Gschwind, André Gürtler
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77, Typografien, Detail
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77
© BAK / Gina Folly

Team’77, ‹Von der Helvetica zur Haas Unica›, in: Typografische Monatsblätter›, TM4/1980
© courtesy of the artists

Team'77

André Gürtler und Christian Mengelt gründeten 1974 das Letterform Research & Design Team und in der Folge 1977, zusammen mit Erich Gschwind, das Team'77, Letterform Research & Design, als freie Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Projekte der Schriftgestaltung. Das Team'77 erarbeitete die folgenden Druckschriften mit und für die folgenden Unternehmen: Die Cyrillic Gothic (1974) und die Alpin Gothic (1974) für die Compugraphic Corporation (USA). Die Media (1976) und die Signa (1978) für Bobst Graphic (Lausanne) und Autologic (USA); sowie die Avant Garde Gothic, Oblique (1977) für die ITC, International Typeface Corporation (USA). Im Jahr 1980 entwickelte das Team'77 die legendäre Haas Unica für die Haas'sche Schriftgiesserei (Münchenstein).

André Gürtler, 1936

Typograf, Schriftgestalter und Lehrer, Therwil

Nach der Ausbildung als Schriftsetzer liess sich André Gürtler zum Typografischen Gestalter an der Schule für Gestaltung Basel unter Emil Ruder ausbilden. Danach arbeitete er unter anderem für die Monotype Corporation in Salfords in England und das Atelier Adrian Frutiger in Paris. Von 1965 bis 2000 lehrte er Schriftgestaltung an der Schule für Gestaltung Basel. Gürtler war Gastdozent an verschiedenen Designschulen und Universitäten in Europa, den USA und Mexiko. Er ist Autor zahlreicher Publikationen in verschiedenen Fachzeitschriften und war Redaktionsmitglied der Fachzeitschrift Typografische Monatsblätter.

Christian Mengelt, 1938

Grafiker, Schriftgestalter und Lehrer, Blauen

Christian Mengelt erhielt nach seiner Ausbildung als Schriftenmaler die Zweitausbildung zum Grafiker an der Schule für Gestaltung Basel unter Armin Hofmann. Mit seinem eigenen Atelier in Basel begann er Zusammenarbeiten mit verschiedenen Design- und Werbeagenturen, unter anderem mit GGK (Basel) und Mendel und Oberer in München. Von 1972 bis 2001 lehrte er Schriftgestaltung an der Schule für Gestaltung Basel. Er war Gastdozent an verschiedenen Designschulen und Universitäten in Europa, den USA und Mexiko und ist Autor zahlreicher Publikationen in Fachzeitschriften.

Erich Gschwind, 1947

Typograf und Schriftgestalter, Metzerlen

Erich Gschwind bildete sich nach der Ausbildung als Schriftsetzer zum Typografischen Gestalter in der Fachklasse für Buchdruck und der Fachklasse für Typografie an der Schule für Gestaltung Basel ebenfalls unter Emil Ruder weiter. Danach arbeitete er als typografischer Gestalter in verschiedenen Druckereien und war verantwortlich für das Corporate Design beim medizinisch-wissenschaftlichen Verlag S. Karger AG in Basel, für den er zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Publikationen gestaltete.