Archives
Current Year

Claudia Caviezel

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel for Atelier Pfister, Bivio, cushion design sketch, 2014 © Claudia Caviezel, St. Gallen ( Claudia Caviezel for Atelier Pfister)
© Claudia Caviezel

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel for Atelier Pfister, Surava, carpets, 2013 © Atelier Pfister (Claudia Caviezel for Atelier Pfister)
© Claudia Caviezel

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel, 150 years Japan-Switzerland, Print on textile, 3 × 5 m, 2015 © Claudia Caviezel, St. Gallen ( courtesy Claudia Caviezel )
© Claudia Caviezel

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel, 1977

Textile designer

Claudia Caviezel is a textile designer with a curious mind and a sharp eye for the potential of things all around us. Following her training at the Lucerne University of Applied Arts and Sciences, Caviezel has worked for the haute couture fabric manufacturer Jakob Schlaepfer, and engaged in a number of parallel projects at all scales — from fabric to lamp shade, from carpet to wall print. In all her projects, her experimental, open-ended approach combines a unique instinct for pattern and colour with expertise and knowledge of technique and materials. She is currently in charge of fabric design and development for Akris, in St. Gallen.
The Confederation has distinguished her with a Swiss Grand Award for Design in recognition of her talent and influence in changing the contemporary textile design scene in Switzerland. Prior to the Grand Award, Caviezel has won the Swiss Design Award in 2003, 2007 and 2010.

Essay

Claudia Caviezel’s Effervescent Universe

Claudia Caviezel’s diploma project tape it instantly captivated me when I saw it in Lucerne in 2002. Her clothing and textiles assembled with tape and her taped floor coverings and curtains were delightfully different. This was a young woman who had the courage to do what she felt like doing and who blithely overstepped the boundaries of traditional design in Switzerland. Caviezel’s work was not conventionally produced nor was the design reduced ; it was at a startling remove from anything typically associated with Swiss attributes. tape it was colourful, wild and unconventional. In her diploma project, this brand-new design graduate introduced a method that has continued to motivate her work ever since: the chain reaction. As she explains it, “I first think about the idea for a project in my head. When I have the feeling that I know what I want it to be like, I get to work; I try things out, elaborating on the idea and never ruling out chance.” Caviezel chooses and combines materials and techniques in unprecedented ways. While working, she takes inspiration from experiments and listening to music. In fact, music looms large in this designer’s life, so much so that one can certainly compare her approach with that of contemporary musicians. She similarly recycles and samples found pieces from her life, takes them apart, rearranges them and repurposes them until they become a personal, artistic work in their own right.
Claudia Caviezel’s unconventional and effervescent projects are unique in the field of Swiss design. She has created an extremely personal, distinctive oeuvre by blending old and new crafts, relying on unusual materials and techniques and making singular use of colour and structure. She is refreshingly uninhibited in appropriating the ordinary and the simple, cleverly redefining and incorporating the familiar into her designs. Her intuitive and concentrated approach produces astonishing results. Only those who have no qualms about taking risks can override norms and ideologies as successfully as Caviezel does. Constantly testing the push and pull between design and art, between series and one-off ; never accepting givens as givens : these are the forces that motivate this designer.
A look at two of Caviezel’s projects gives revealing insight into her work. For her 5 x 8 metre wall covering on view at the Westbund Art and Design Fair 2014 in Shanghai, she applied untold washes of paint with squeegee and scraper to old plastic sheeting on which her projects had been printed. Occasionally the former prints could be seen shining through. “I scanned and enlarged the combinations of colour that I liked best, then modified and reassembled them,” Caviezel explains. She placed a vibrant array of flowers and animals against this colourful background. Many of the motifs come from her extensive collection of photographs and sketches, produced in the course of her travels. The opulent wall piece was an eye-catching favourite among visitors to the Westbund Art and Design Fair. Innumerable Chinese visitors had pictures taken of themselves standing in front of it. Caviezel’s contribution in Shanghai did not escape the notice of people in Switzerland and, in fact, internationally, with reproductions of the work appearing in publications all over the world. This has led to commissions for new wall pieces and interior design projects both at home and abroad.
Many people from Switzerland are familiar with Caviezel’s designs through her collaboration with Atelier Pfister. Since 2011, she has created pillows, linens, blankets, carpets and a sofa for the furniture company. She is currently working on a new carpet project. After experimenting with a number of knotted and woven designs, she finally settled on making a tufted carpet. This time she started with a puzzle from her childhood. It consisted of a cube, with a different colour on each face and, in some cases, two colours that divide the plane diagonally into two triangles. Caviezel had a cube produced to match the proportions of the carpet. She laid out pattern after pattern and took pictures of them. At the computer she added shadowed joints between the cubes, thus filling the planes with a variety of colours and structures. “If I had started designing at the computer straightaway, I would never come up with such ideas. I need the transfer between analogue and digital, between small and large dimensions, between low and high tech.”
Since finishing her training almost 14 years ago, Caviezel has branched out in several directions and created a job context of her own. In addition to designing fabrics and products, she is devoting herself increasingly to large-scale images and projects for interiors in collaboration with architects. Although she is still relatively young, there is no mistaking how much she has experimented and achieved in the course of her professional career. As a long-standing fan of Claudia Caviezel, I am excited and curious to see how this passionate and fearless designer continues to expand her effervescent universe.
Ariana Pradal

Archives
Année courante

Claudia Caviezel

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel pour Atelier Pfister, Bivio, croquis pour design de coussin, 2014 © Claudia Caviezel, St. Gallen ( Claudia Caviezel for Atelier Pfister)
© Claudia Caviezel

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel pour Atelier Pfister, Surava, tapis, 2013 © Atelier Pfister (Claudia Caviezel for Atelier Pfister)
© Claudia Caviezel

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel, 150 years Japan-Switzerland, Impression sur textile, 3 × 5 m, 2015 © Claudia Caviezel, St. Gallen ( courtesy Claudia Caviezel )
© Claudia Caviezel

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel
© BAK / Gina Folly

Claudia Caviezel, 1977

Designer textile

Claudia Caviezel est une designer textile curieuse d’esprit et qui a l’oeil pour dénicher le potentiel des choses qui nous entourent. Après sa formation à la Haute école du design et d’art de Lucerne, elle a travaillé pour le créateur de textiles haute couture Jakob Schlaepfer et développé en parallèle nombre de projets de tout acabit allant du tissu à l’abat-jour, du tapis à l’impression murale. Tous ses projets sont l’expression d’une approche ouverte et expérimentale et portent la marque d’un goût unique et instinctif pour le motif et la couleur marié à une connaissance experte des techniques et des matériaux. Elle est actuellement responsable du secteur design textile et développement textile chez Akris, à St-Gall.
Le Grand Prix suisse de design décerné par la Confédération reconnaît et récompense le talent de la designer et l’influence qu’elle exerce sur l’évolution de la scène du design suisse contemporain. Avant ce Grand Prix, Claudia Caviezel avait déjà remporté un Prix suisse de design en 2003, en 2007 et en 2010.

Essai

L’univers jaillissant de Claudia Caviezel

Quand en 2002, je vis le travail de diplôme de Claudia Caviezel tape it à la classe de textile de Lucerne, je fus instantanément emballée. Les vêtements et les textiles fixés au ruban adhésif, les rideaux et revêtements de sol collés au scotch faisaient montre d’une différence dérangeante. Une jeune femme osait faire ce dont elle avait envie et franchir sans crainte les limites de la tradition du design suisse. Le travail de Claudia Caviezel n’était ni traité de manière traditionnelle, ni frileux dans sa réalisation ; il était tout autre que ce qu’on associe habituellement au « typiquement suisse ». tape it était multicoloré, débridé et non conventionnel. Dans son travail de diplôme, la designer fondait une méthode qui marque toujours son travail actuel : la réaction en chaîne. Elle explique ainsi sa manière de faire : « Je commence par me représenter le concept du projet dans ma tête ; puis, quand je vois à peu près à quoi cela doit ressembler, je fonce, j’expérimente, je poursuis le développement d’une idée et suis ouverte à ce que le hasard peut apporter ». Claudia Caviezel utilise et combine les matériaux et les techniques de façon inhabituelle, curieuse de voir où l’entraîneront ses expérimentations et se laisse mener par la musique qu’elle écoute en travaillant. La musique occupe une grande place dans la vie de la designer. On peut voir des analogies entre le mode de faire de Claudia Caviezel et celui de musiciens contemporains. Elle recycle et échantillonne des fragments de vie, les déconstruit, leur donne une nouvelle forme et les rend méconnaissables jusqu’à ce qu’ils se recomposent en une oeuvre personnelle et artistique.
Non conventionnelle et bouillonnante d’idées, l’oeuvre de Claudia Caviezel est unique dans le paysage du design suisse. En combinant des procédés artisanaux anciens et nouveaux, des matériaux et des techniques insolites, en faisant appel à des couleurs et à des structures, elle a créé quelque chose de tout à fait personnel. Elle se distingue par le fait qu’elle ne craint pas d’utiliser des choses simples, tirées du quotidien, qu’elle ne cesse de réinterpréter et d’intégrer à la conception de ses oeuvres. En suivant cette méthode intuitive et concentrée, la designer élabore de surprenantes solutions. Seules des personnalités n’ayant pas froid aux yeux, comme Claudia Caviezel, peuvent réussir à faire fi des normes et des idéologies. Sonder le champ de forces dans lequel évoluent le design et l’art, refuser les choses telles qu’elles se donnent, voilà les forces à l’oeuvre derrière Claudia Caviezel.
Un regard sur deux de ses projets permet de mieux comprendre la méthode de Claudia Caviezel. Pour réaliser l’image murale de 5 x 8 mètres destinée à la Westbund Art and Design Fair de Shangaï en 2014, elle s’est servie de deux plaques de matière plastique qu’elle n’utilisait plus et sur lesquelles étaient imprimés quelques-uns de ses projets. Avec spatule et racloir, elle a mélangé d’innombrables couleurs sur ces plaques ; on voyait y transparaître ça et là ses anciens travaux. « J’ai scanné, agrandi, modifié les couleurs et recomposé les mélanges qui me plaisaient le plus », dit Claudia Caviezel. Cette bricoleuse a placé d’innombrables fleurs et animaux sur ce fond coloré. Beaucoup de motifs viennent de ses volumineuses archives constituées de photographies et d’esquisses qu’elle a faites et dessinées le plus souvent en voyage. Cette opulente image murale a été l’eyecatcher et la favorite du public de la Westbund Art and Design Fair. D’innombrables Chinois se sont fait photographier avec elle en arrière-fond, et des publications du monde entier l’ont reproduite. L’épisode de Shangaï a eu du retentissement en Suisse et bien au-delà ; il s’en est suivi des commandes d’oeuvres murales et de projets d’architecture d’intérieur, dans notre pays et à l’étranger.
En Suisse, la notoriété de Claudia Caviezel est due pour beaucoup à sa collaboration avec Atelier Pfister. Depuis 2011, elle a réalisé pour eux des coussins, de la literie, des couvertures, des tapis et un sofa. Après divers essais où elle a utilisé des techniques d’attachage et de tressage, elle s’est lancée dans la réalisation d’un tapis touffeté. Elle est partie cette fois d’un jeu de son enfance où des dés forment un puzzle. Chacune des faces du dé a une autre couleur ou deux couleurs qui partagent la surface diagonalement en deux triangles. Claudia Caviezel a recréé le jeu dans les proportions du tapis, a multiplié les dessins et les a photographiés. En travaillant avec le computer, elle a enlevé l’ombre marquant l’endroit où les dés se touchent et a rempli de couleurs et de structures les surfaces ainsi créées. « Si je commençais directement avec le computer, je n’arriverais pas à de telles solutions. J’ai besoin du transfert de l’analogique au numérique, entre petite et grande dimension, entre lowtech et hightech », dit-elle de sa méthode.
Depuis l’obtention de son diplôme il y a bientôt 14 ans, la designer a élargi le champ de son travail dans plusieurs directions et s’est ainsi créé son propre environnement. En plus de ses esquisses et de ses produits en étoffe, elle intègre à son oeuvre de plus en plus d’images grand format et des projets d’intérieur en collaboration avec des architectes. Bien qu’encore jeune, Claudia Caviezel a montré qu’elle a beaucoup essayé et beaucoup atteint pendant ces quelques années. Fan de la première heure, je suis curieuse de voir dans quelles dimensions Claudia Caviezel, avec sa passion et son intrépidité, va étendre son univers jaillissant.
Ariana Pradal