WT Residency programme in Amsterdam from January 2013

Amsterdam

Werkplaats Typografie Residency Programm

Werkplaats Typografie Residency Programm
© FOC

Description

Particularly suitable for the field of graphic design; a studio space will be available for a total of four people in Amsterdam in the De Pijp district, either from January to June 2013 or from July to December 2013. This is an international design residency programme with well-known tutors; the language of the programme is English. BAK will make a contribution of CHF 12 000 to the living expenses of the award-winners for the duration of their stay.

The coordinators of the WT residency would like to meet and have a personal discussion with interested parties in Amsterdam. The travelling expenses for this are to be paid by the award-winners themselves.


Description of the WT residency programme
Werkplaats Typografie in Amsterdam is launching its residency programme for designers in September 2012; award-winners can focus on a practical project or on intensive research for six months. The residency studio will be available from January 2013 to four designers, fitted out with all the necessary requirements for work.

The programme includes weekly visits by the tutors: Karel Martens and Armand Mevis for discussion of conceptual and formal issues; Maxine Kopsa, Roland Früh and Paul Elliman for curating, research and theory. Trips to other cities and visits to other studios are also part of the programme as are regular tutorials with international designers and artists. The studio focuses largely on the intensive work of a project since we would like to support the residents in their work and facilitate a practical project. Furthermore we provide a network with opportunities for exhibitions and for producing publications.

Residents should therefore apply for the residency with a concrete project in mind. There are no specific requirements with regard to the type of project. The WT residency focuses largely on graphic design; however we are very interested in testing the boundaries and communalities of the various art and design disciplines and discussing projects from these diverse areas.

The WT residency provides a professional environment for discussions with other international designers and artists, as well as with tutors and has the goal of the development and presentation of a personal project in the field of design. Amsterdam ensures an ideal vibrant design-friendly environment.

Publications and links: www.wtresidency.org

Programme WT Residency à Amsterdam dès janvier 2013

Amsterdam

Werkplaats Typografie Residency Programm

Werkplaats Typografie Residency Programm
© OFC

Description

Quatre personnes, travaillant de préférence dans le design graphique, peuvent profiter d'une place en atelier de janvier à juin 2013 ou de juillet à décembre 2013 à Amsterdam dans le quartier De Pijp. Il s'agit d'un programme international de résidence dans le domaine du design avec des mentors reconnus ; la langue de travail est l'anglais. L'OFC verse aux lauréats une contribution de 12 000 francs qui couvre leurs frais pour la durée du séjour.

Les coordinateurs du programme WT Residency souhaitent rencontrer les candidats intéressés à Amsterdam pour faire leur connaissance. Les frais de voyage sont à la charge du lauréat.


Description du programme WT Residency
Werkplaats Typografie à Amsterdam lance en septembre 2012 un programme de résidence pour les designers qui souhaitent consacrer six mois à un projet pratique ou à une recherche détaillée. Le Residency Studio à Amsterdam sera à la disposition de quatre designer dès janvier 2013 et dispose des équipements de base.

Le programme comprend une visite hebdomadaire des mentors, tour à tour Karel Martens et Armand Mevis pour les questions conceptionnelles et formelles, Maxine Kopsa, Roland Früh et Paul Elliman pour le curating, la recherche et la théorie. Des excursions dans d'autres villes, des visites de studio et des tutoriels réguliers avec des designers et des artistes internationaux complètent ce programme. En principe, le Studio est pensé comme une occasion de se consacrer totalement à un projet. Même si les résidents doivent bien entendu pouvoir profiter de l'offre culturelle d'Amsterdam et de sa région, nous aimerions principalement les soutenir dans leur travail, leur permettre d'achever un projet pratique ou un travail de recherche dans le temps imparti et de présenter le résultat dans un environnement professionnel. Nous mettons pour cela à leur disposition un réseau de lieux d'exposition et de production de publications.

Les résidents postulent et présentent un projet pour le séjour. Il y a une certaine flexibilité quant au type de projet. Le programme WT Residency est en principe destiné aux designers graphiques, mais s'intéressé à tester les limites et les convergences des différentes disciplines de l'art et du design ; nous sommes donc disposés à considérer les projets d'autres secteurs.

Le programme WT Residency donne la possibilité aux designers de développer et de présenter un projet personnel dans un environnement professionnel et avec les conseils d'autres designers et artistes internationaux ainsi que des mentors Karel Martens, Armand Mevis, Maxine Kopsa, Roland Früh et Paul Ellimann. Amsterdam est l'endroit idéal pour cela.

Publications et liens: www.wtresidency.org