Information

Swiss Federal Design Competition

Swiss designers are eligible to take part in the Swiss Design Competition. The Federal Design Commission appoints the jury. It is assisted by prominent experts.
Since 2012 the age limit of 40 has been lifted.
The competition will take place in two rounds. In the first round the participants will submit a dossier to the jury. The selected competitors will then be invited to take part in a second round in which they will present their work. On this occasion the jury will name the prize winners. The total prize money is 25,000 francs. Some 18 prizes are awarded each year.
Please note the new entry conditions in our rules!

Ateliers and Internships

In connection with the Swiss Federal Design Awards, the Federal Department of Culture (BAK) is presenting scholarships for six-month studio residencies abroad as well as the prize money. The winners of the Swiss Design Award 2014 will have the opportunity to select one of the three following options instead of the prize money: an artist residency in New York, which covers accommodation and use of a large studio, a studio space in Werkplaats Typografie in Amsterdam (particularly aimed at designers), work experience, selected by the award-winner; BAK will assist in finding and securing the work experience position.

Artist residency in New York 2013/2014


Work experience positions
BAK will assist award-winners in finding suitable work experience positions and facilitate the individual needs and requirements of the award-winners. If you are interested in work experience opportunities, please contact Barbara Vlachos (Design promotion: Federal Department of Culture): barbara.vlachos@bak.admin.ch.
We will provide all possible support. If it is not possible to arrange a work experience position, you have the option of receiving the (usual) prize money.

Exhibition

Since 2002, the Swiss Federal Office of Culture helds an exhibition that presents the award-winning works of the Swiss Design Competition. These exhibitions are intended to present the creative process of Swiss design by exhibiting the works of award-winning designers to an interested audience. In order to to stimulate debate, the award-winning works and projects are not simply presented and documented but also put in a wider context by a series of various conferences and events permitting a closer look of current design trends.

Contact

Swiss Federal Office of Culture (FOC)
Design Promotion
Patrizia Crivelli
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Berne
T +41 31 322 92 77
F +41 31 322 92 73
E swissdesign@bak.admin.ch

How to apply

Both your application form and your project portfolio must be submitted online.

The application and portfolio submission are processed ONLINE at:
www.bak.admin.ch/online

 

Application and portfolio submission : December 5th, 2014 – January 19th, 2015.

About the Website

The site www.swissdesignawards.ch may be viewed using the following browsers:
Firefox - Safari - Chrome


If using a Microsoft XP version, best readability is achieved with Microsoft ClearType tuner

Credits

Published by the Federal Office of Culture, Berne

Concept
Patrizia Crivelli, Berne
Jonathan Hares, Lausanne
Beatrice Mettraux, Berne
Anna Niederhäuser, Berne
Anna Wacker, Berne

Editorial
Patrizia Crivelli, Berne
Anisha Imhasly, Berne
Barbara Vlachos, Berne

Graphic Design
Jonathan Hares, Lausanne
Radovan Scasascia, London
Guillaume Chuard, Lausanne

Programming
Radovan Scasascia, London
www.scasascia.com
Seitenbau GmbH, Konstanz
www.seitenbau.com

Hosting and Operation
Federal Office of Information Technology,
Systems and Telecommunication, Berne

Video post-production
Vincent Jacquier, Lausanne

Font
LL Brown Regular, Aurèle Sack, Lausanne, www.lineto.com

Thanks to:
Banny & Wanny, Thomas Betz, Manon Briod, Christian Féraud, Yves Fischer, Peter Hiltbrunner, Martin Mengele, Julien Mercier, Aurelia Müller, Corina Neuenschwander, Pauline Piguet, Anita Sterchi, Armin Zuercher

Despite intensive research, the publishers have been unable to find all the copyright owners, but upon receiving the appropriate information, are prepared to settle legal claims within the usual limits.

© 2010 Federal Office of Culture
www.bak.admin.ch

Information

Wettbewerb für Design

Am Schweizer Wettbewerb für Design können sich Schweizer DesignerInnen beteiligen. Die Eidgenössische Designkommission bildet die Jury. Sie wird von anerkannten Expertinnen und Experten unterstützt.
Seit 2012 ist die Altersgrenze von 40 Jahren aufgehoben.
Der Wettbewerb wird in zwei Runden durchgeführt. In einer ersten Runde legen die Teilnehmenden der Jury ein Dossier vor. Die ausgewählten Bewerberinnen und Bewerber werden zu einer zweiten Runde eingeladen, wo sie ihre Arbeit vorstellen. An diesem Anlass bestimmt die Jury die Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger. Die Preissumme beträgt 25'000 Franken. Pro Jahr werden rund 18 Preise zugesprochen.
Bitte beachten Sie die neuen Teilnahmebedingungen in unserem Reglement!

Ateliers und Praktikumsplätze

Im Rahmen des Eidgenössischen Wettbewerbs für Design vergibt das Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK) neben Geldpreisen auch Förderpreise in Form von halbjährigen Atelier-Aufenthalten im Ausland. Die Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner des eidgenössischen Preises für Design 2014 haben die Möglichkeit, anstelle der Preissumme aus folgenden drei Möglichkeiten zu wählen: ein Atelieraufenthalt in New York, bei dem eine Unterkunft sowie ein grosses Atelier zur freien Benutzung stehen, ein Atelierplatz in Amsterdam oder ein selber gewähltes Praktikum, bei dessen Suche und Vermittlung das BAK unterstützend hilft.

Atelieraufenthalt in New York 2013/2014


Praktikumsplätze
Das BAK versucht auf Wunsch zu Praktikumsplätzen zu verhelfen und somit die guten Leistungen der GewinnerInnen auf individuelle Weise zu würdigen. Falls Interesse für ein Praktikum besteht, kontaktieren Sie bitte Barbara Vlachos (Designförderung, Bundesamt für Kultur): barbara.vlachos@bak.admin.ch. Wir werden Sie soweit wie möglich unterstützen. Sollte eine Vermittlung nicht glücken, steht Ihnen der (reguläre) Geldpreis zu.

Ausstellung

Seit 2002 organisiert das Bundesamt für Kultur im Zusammenhang mit dem Schweizer Wettbewerb für Design jedes Jahr eine Ausstellung. Diese sollen das Schweizer Designschaffen vermitteln und die prämierten Arbeiten der Designerinnen und Designer einem interessierten Publikum vorstellen. Um den Diskurs anzuregen, werden die im Wettbewerb ausgezeichneten Arbeiten und Projekte nicht nur vorgestellt und dokumentiert, sondern durch diverse Rahmenveranstaltungen in einen weiteren Kontext gestellt sowie auf Fragen des aktuellen Designs untersucht.

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK)
Designförderung
Patrizia Crivelli
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
T +41 31 322 92 77
F +41 31 322 92 73
E swissdesign@bak.admin.ch

Anmeldung zum Wettbewerb

Die Anmeldung und die Projekteingabe müssen online eingegeben werden.

Anmeldung und Dossiereingabe ONLINE unter:


www.bak.admin.ch/online

Anmeldung von 1. Dezember 2014 bis 10. Januar 2015.
Dossiereingabe bis 17. Januar 2015.

Zur Webseite

Die Site www.swissdesignawards.ch funktioniert am besten auf folgenden Browsern:

Firefox - Safari - Chrome

Wenn Sie eine Version Microsoft XP verwenden, wird die beste Lesbarkeit mit Microsoft ClearType tuner erreicht.

Credits

Herausgegeben vom Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern


Konzept
Patrizia Crivelli, Bern
Jonathan Hares, Lausanne
Beatrice Mettraux, Bern
Anna Niederhäuser, Bern
Anna Wacker, Bern

Redaktion
Patrizia Crivelli, Bern
Anisha Imhasly, Bern
Barbara Vlachos, Bern

Gestaltung
Jonathan Hares, Lausanne
Radovan Scasascia, London
Guillaume Chuard, Lausanne

Programmierung
Radovan Scasascia, London
www.scasascia.com
Seitenbau GmbH, Konstanz
www.seitenbau.com

Betrieb und Hosting
Bundesamt für Informatik
und Telekommunikation, Bern

Video post-production
Vincent Jacquier, Lausanne

Schrift
LL Brown Regular, Aurèle Sack, Lausanne, www.lineto.com

Merci:
Banny & Wanny, Thomas Betz, Manon Briod, Christian Féraud, Yves Fischer, Peter Hiltbrunner, Martin Mengele, Julien Mercier, Aurelia Müller, Corina Neuenschwander, Pauline Piguet, Anita Sterchi, Armin Zuercher

Die Herausgeberinnen konnten trotz intensiver Recherchen nicht alle Inhaber von Urheberrechten ausfindig machen, sind aber bei entsprechender Benachrichtigung bereit, Rechtsansprüche im üblichen Rahmen abzugelten.

© 2010 Bundesamt für Kultur
www.bak.admin.ch